top of page

Another Weekend Thrifting Adventure

Yes, I had another thrifting adventure this past weekend! Neither as adventurous nor so successful as my March trip, but I did locate a brand new to me place that I’m sure I’ll visit again.


I had gone down to Akron for a tribute show of a local, should’ve been contenders punk band from the early 80s (the F-Models - there’s stuff on YouTube if that’s your thing!) and decided to stay the night so I could browse around the next day. Once again, bad weather seemed determined to put a crimp in my plans but I didn’t let it get in my way.


The first place on my list was no longer in business, so I decided to search out a late breakfast and regroup. Stopped at a classic little coffeehouse called Nervous Dog - gosh, I miss places like that. All the ones up here close around the time I get out of work. I was idly scrolling Facebook over my Russian tea biscuit when I saw a friend’s post warning of bad weather and to get indoors. But I was just about to get on the road! I decided to heed his warning, though, and spent another fifteen minutes enjoying the ambiance.


Once radar confirmed the worst had passed by (with only a brief flicker of power at the coffeehouse), I headed out. I was only a couple of miles down the road when I spotted fire/rescue lights up ahead. As I drew closer, I could see a car off in the ditch to the left, with a badly smashed passenger-side windshield and front end damage. Pulling around the city vehicles, the source of the damage came into view - a large dead tree that had blown down and into the road. Had I left when I originally intended to, I might have been right there when it came down. Very glad I wasn’t!


From there I made my way to the first of two Habitat ReStores on my list. This was a large store, but only had furniture and tools in stock; no housewares, which is what I was after. Next stop was a Goodwill that had a retail shop on one side, and bins on the other. I didn’t want to spend the time rummaging - that would likely need to be a planned trip all on its own. But the retail store was a nice surprise. Goodwill is usually on the high priced side, but I found several items there that didn’t break the bank.




Next up was a Salvation Army where I found a miniature black lacquered jewelry box similar to the one I found on my last foray. I think I might list the two of them as a set, see how that goes. I also picked up an old First Aid book that looked kind of cool. This wasn’t the largest store on my trip, but I think it would be worth stopping again if I were back in the area. Another place on my list should have been almost right across the street; however, after two passes I was pretty sure it was no longer at that location.


By this time, the afternoon was wearing on and while the weather hadn’t gotten any worse, it also hadn’t gotten better, and the temperature was dropping (I’d been fine with just a suit jacket over a long sleeve tee for most of the day). The second Habitat on my list was forty-five minutes in the opposite direction, as was a Volunteers of America I’d wanted to check out. Instead, I decided to try one last place before heading home.


This was the place I’d never heard of before. I kept forgetting to do so on previous stops, but this time I took my camera phone along. When I get that video ready for YouTube, I’ll let you know! This place is definitely worth a revisit. Somewhere between an antiques mall and a junk shop, it was much larger inside than it appeared from the parking lot. Lots of closely-packed aisles, jumbled furniture, even an outdoor section that I decided to pass on due to the rain. I only picked up one item here, but it was a classic Miller Studios bathroom wall plaque that needs a good cleaning and a little love to be good as new (tho to be honest, I’m not sure the baked-in tobacco patina will ever completely wash away).


I made it home in time to take the dog for his afternoon walk - though by then, I definitely needed a coat over my jacket. I didn’t hit every stop on my list, but that just means I’ve got more thrifting adventures ahead. Stay tuned, and I’ll update you the next time I head out.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page