top of page

Boxes, boxes everywhere..

Big sigh!


We do’d it. As of a week ago Tuesday, we are as out of the old apartment in Gordon Square as we are going to get, and into the new house.


It’s a big change. Still figuring out things like, what does THIS lightswitch do? Or more to the point - where are my work shoes?? That Tuesday, all I could locate

were the stinky sneakers I’d been moving & cleaning all weekend in and boy howdy, I was not going to wear those in to the office. I still hadn’t located the ones I’m looking for (as of this writing - since found, hooray!), but at least I found an older pair that are past their prime but acceptable. Shoes. Let’s buy some shoes.


It’s boxes, boxes everywhere nor any drop to drink - but I’ve got a nice quiet back bedroom, with room to fully open my dresser drawers (rare privilege!). I’ve got another room next to it to serve as office space, once we unpack some of those boxes in there. It’s three steps down from the kitchen to let the dog out for a bit of business, not two flights. I’ve got, o minor miracle, air conditioning. I’ve got a dedicated room for resale items. I’m still a ways off from getting the craft area set up; but it’s all pretty well in one place once I’m to that point.


One thing we don’t have yet is internet (*again: since resolved). We’ve got the equipment, it’s connected - but the modem stubbornly refuses to activate no matter how often we try. Hopefully this can get taken care of soon, because my cell service there is a wee bit spotty. And it would be nice to have a TV that does more than take up space on my dresser! Once that office gets a bit cleared out, I can go back to managing bills etc at home, rather than sneaking them in at work (heh). And once I have a way to get online regularly, I can get back to actively managing this site as well. I can’t help but wonder if having started to get serious with a posting schedule and site upgrades wasn’t part of the magic spell that made finding a house happen! (nah - it was actually ordering checks with our old address on them, everybody knows that).


This is not much of an update, but until I can get past things like, where the bloody hell is the microwave?! I think it’s the best we can do. I so look forward to getting settled and back into the swing of things, I can’t begin to tell you. My home is absolutely my refuge and my sanctuary, and tho the apartment was insufficient to our needs, it was tolerably comfortable. Upending it has had me at sixes and sevens, even as I KNOW the new situation will be so much better. I fully expect to be able to post something in July that stays a bit more on topic for this site. I appreciate anyone who’s come along this far and will do my best to make the ride more enjoyable in the months ahead. Til then I leave you in perfect love and faerie dust, and wish you a great summer.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page