top of page

On the Road to Somewhere

The great disrupt-my-life-now-so-it-can-be-settled-later continues. I’ve been taking carloads to the new house steadily, nearly daily. And yet our apartment doesn’t feel significantly emptier, nor does the new place feel like it’s filling up much. Of course, the house is half again larger than our current space (which somehow is larger than our old house in Collinwood? that seems - incorrect. I had a whole ass piano in my old dining room, a full living room and kitchen, and two and a half bedrooms. Maybe the county is counting the porch where we are now?)


We are also two weeks away from Designated Moving Day and I am honestly not sure how we will be ready. Of course I’m the one who designated it, and I can switch - I’ve already resigned myself to paying rent and mortgage and double utilities in June as well. Hopefully we’re at least well enough out by mid-June to do some thorough cleaning of the place. I don’t want to give notice until we know a truck is imminent, cause I don’t want to give my landlord any extra reasons to be a dick. I’ve had worse, but am very much looking forward to NOT having someone who can just up and announce, Oh yeah, you can’t be living the way you have been, pls drop everything and change it by next week. Like this one will on occasion.


For Instance: Two (three?) weeks ago, we got texted that everything in the basement Had to Go by the following week. Now easily half of what’s down there belongs to downstairs neighbor (who also got the text); perhaps a quarter of the remainder is stuff left behind by previous tenants. Some of whom may have been staying with us for undefined periods, requiring me to make a late night run to drop a couple of crates off on my daughter’s ex’s dad’s front porch - but never mind all that. Dad being last known residence of Mr Sweet but Well Beyond ADHD who seems to find holding a job icky. I mean, as do we all; but when you’ve got three kids - or is it four? - with more than one baby mama, one kiiinda needs to bite that particular bullet. He’s a good enough person at heart we weren’t going to just let the landlord’s crew chuck his stuff out on trash day but ugh. Anyway, the basement ultimatum actually worked in our favor, as it gave an excuse to move all those things without anyone asking nosy questions, though I would have preferred to leave that stuff for nearly last. Ah well.


Along with all that, we’re now into It’s Finally Nice, Do All the Things! season.

Meaning every weekend there’s been something - the wedding of two dear, dear friends; the fundraiser party for Ingenuity. One of which I wanted to attend and the other of which I really didn’t; can you guess which is which? Both of which were also sources of stress, because I don’t have spoons to spare and couldn’t prepare properly for either one. It’s also Fairie Festival season, and I’m watching my faerie fam preparing for one or the other (there are two main ones in May). 


I’ve spoken about what these festivals mean to me several times, including in this video. Some of my fondest memories involve being part of that event - on the side of the fae, of course! And as spring starts a-comin’ in, my entire being expects to re-enact the seasonal ritual of preparing things for my shop, loading the car, and driving eastward into better weather. It’s a season that sounds like the skirling of bagpipes and the thunder of drums which I can at least enjoy thanks to the miracle of YouTube. But this year I’m grounded, which was it’s own sort of stress as well in recent weeks. Not as bad as it could be, though, as the excitement of FINALLY having decent studio space is filling in a lot of those gaps.


And I do! Or I will, once the furniture bits get over there and I can start getting it all organized. I’ve got it fairly well figured out how I think it will all fit - remains to be seen if spreadsheet layouts work in 3D, but they should be close. Honestly, even if they need some tweaking (they will), just the shift from a roughly 11x12 room that's been bursting trying to contain it all; to a 14x8 workspace plus a 6x10 coal room turned resale storage/S&H processing, PLUS another 6x7 storeroom is monumental. And there’s still space for laundry AND an eventual second hangout space. Do I have Plans? Oh yes - yes, I have PLANS. Planny McPlannerson, that’s me.


But to bring this back around to being relevant to this blog’s intended purpose: what I do now have is a dedicated space for all my resale stuff (I think it’s even mostly all there, now - no more trying to figure out where a listed piece got stored because there was no room to keep it accessible). A room, with shelving, and a workbench I can set up to be just for taking product photos. I cannot wait til this is in a finalized form, because I’ve got good stuff and I want to rehome it! And heck, now that I have a garage, and a decent driveway, we can actually have an actual garage sale if we want. We want, trust me. Probably more than one.


This is all very exciting, and a dreadful slog, both at the same time. It’s a change that’s been in the making for literally years, and so much was dependent on it: should I rent studio space somewhere, or will I have enough room at Future Location? Do I want to rent some space in an arts building to have a little beginner’s shop? Will I ever get some quiet space to myself? I have the answers, now, even if they’re still at the stage of, the idea has taken shape but not yet manifested. Putting me once again into a liminal space that - hey wait, this isn’t my spirit journal! Let’s just say, it’s a space where Dakini Trading is still mostly on hold, but I expect that once we finally cross this last hurdle, I’ll not only be in a position to return to manifesting my vision for DTC, but actually in better shape than at any time previously.


So holding that happy thought in mind, I leave you for now - In perfect love and Faerie dust. See you again in June!

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page